Her Little Girl–Part 1

Tears cascade down my face.

My mother’s death still brings sorrow.

Remembering the night she died,

All that remained was a cold, hard shell.

Mom has gone ahead too soon.

No more shopping sprees and lunches at noon.

We just were beginning to embrace.

Father and daughter had a falling out.

So, he’s nowhere to be found.

As a child, I don’t remember

The usual affection a mother shows her child,

No hugs and kisses, no I love you’s.

But, it wasn’t a completely dysfunctional life.

With frequent trips to the library,

Hand in hand, we walked through

The sparsely wooded area on a warm and dark, starry night.

We had to escape my father’s cruel banter.

Schizophrenia overtook his mind like a rabid raccoon.

I became well acquainted with Walt Disney and Dr. Seuss.

As little girls do, I also dreamed of finding my Prince,

To one day escape my world of fragile glass,

That fears the casting of stones.

By attending Church, mother instilled a great Faith.

Train up a child in the way that he should go;

and when he gets older, he will not depart from it

So, the Good Book goes.

These gifts mother bestowed upon her daughter,

made me strong and wise, if I had to journey alone.

But, the walk alone is so difficult and painful to bear,

Without anyone to give me sound advice.

So, everything must be learned the hard way–

Trial and error, ups and downs, failure and success.

With unknown courage, somewhere deep inside,

Her grown little girl faces the challenge.

My Faith will send me where I belong.

4 comments

  1. platosgroove · February 4, 2015

    Bless your strong sweet soul. There is a place, a thing, a mission, a purpose that your faith is wanting to attach itself to. Sometimes it is hard to define and we “go out not knowing where we are going”. But I read somewhere that is what made him righteous. It was not how he went cause he was not a good man. It was not where he went apparently cause he was all over the place. Somehow his righteousness was based on the mere fact of his going. At least that is my present hope. It is written, “Behold, I do a new thing”. It is also written “Do all that is in your heart”. And again “He delights in giving you the desires of your heart”. My issue is that I am just now, after all these years, beginning to only glimpse that which my heart has desired. Keep writing. May He be to you tonight the “Lifter of Your Head”

    Like

  2. calensariel · February 5, 2015

    You have a beautiful way of telling a story through a poem. It feels like it’s all there sitting between the words. I’ll be looking forward to Part 2.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lasheastanard · February 5, 2015

      Thank you. I’m also waiting for Pat 2, perhaps it has already arrived and I just don’t know it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

