Unto Him Who is Able This New Year

Clinkety, clinkety!! Clank, clank, clank!!

The sound of pots and pans rejoice in the night air.

Purple, blue, green, and red–

colorful, boisterous fireworks burst and awaken a dark, dormant sky,

welcoming in a new year.

With celebration, let us remember former promises–

those old resolutions bring to the forefront.

Commitments renew.

New works we must also do:

Increasing the Kingdom of God–

offering a helping hand to a daughter, son, sister, or brother in need

Do unto them as we would do unto Him.

For I was hungred, and ye gave me meat:  I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink:  I was a stranger, and ye took me in:  Naked, and ye clothed me:  I was sick, and ye visited me:  I was in prison, and ye came unto me.

For such Love covers a multitude of sins,

perhaps even prickling a broken and contrite heart–

an offering to He Who saves,

regardless of past transgressions and oppression.

May the work of the Lord be a priority in our lives,

answering this beckoning opportunity.

 

Leave a Reply

